Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Metro Council Honors Outstanding Community Leaders Black History Program

Fourth District Metro Councilman David Tandy presented General Manager Bill Price with a certificate recognizing WLOU for more than 50 years of service at Launch Celebration for the new Praize 104.7 FM on January 16th.
(Louisville) – On Thursday, February 23rd the Metro Council’s Community Affairs Committee will hold a special meeting to honor Outstanding Community leaders as part of its 2012 Black History Month Program. The meeting begins at 12:00pm in Council Chambers, 601 West Jefferson Street. “Every year, the Committee and the Metro Council are pleased to shine the spotlight on citizens in our districts who work for change,” says Councilwoman Barbara Shanklin (D) 2 Chair of the committee. “Many times they receive no recognition for the contribution they make so our community can be a better place to live.”

Honors are given in two different categories: the first goes to a special group of people who work for an organization. Then individual honors will be given to 25 people. Below are the honorees for the 2012 Black History Program: Special honoree recognition will be presented to WLOU/WLLV/FM 104.7. The Community Affairs Community will present honors to the station’s management and staff for their service to the African American community. To be honored are: Ben Walker, Krystal “Ms Krystal” Goodner, Broderick Purvis, Jerry “J-Hazz” Hazard, Teresa “TK” Kellam, Vincent Graves, David Autry, James Ford—Program Director and Bill Price-General Manager.

The following individuals will be honored for their work in the community: District 1 – Rev. Byron L. Cox District 2 – “Miss Dee” Masden District 3 – Mary Vaughn District 4 – Samuel Watkins, Jr. District 5 – Rev. Geoffrey Ellis District 6 – Michael Dean District 7 – Matthew Carson District 8 – Bill Redden District 9 – Jeffrey Gray District 10 –Joel Whitehurst District 11 –Wanda Brown District 12 – Katrina Marshall District 13 –Michael McKissick District 14 –Ira & Ruby Washington District 15 – Mary Steel District 17 – Juanita L. White District 18 –Judge Janice Martin, Esq. District 19 – Hattie Tillman-Downs District 20 – John R. Fleming Jr. District 21 – Dr. Renee Campbell District 22 – Angeline Charleston District 23 – James L. Linton District 24 – Larnelle Harris District 25 – Ms. Wanda Trigg District 26 =Tyrone Campbell

The 2012 Black History program will be carried live on METRO TV, Insight Cable Channel 25 beginning at 12:00pm.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...